Market Field School

Market Field School

Learning For Life

School Governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Together with the Executive Headteacher and the Board of Trustees, they are responsible for appointing the Head of School. The Local Governing Body of Market Field School are responsible for holding the Head of School and the wider leadership team to account and monitor Quality of Education (Teaching, Learning and Assessment), Behaviours and Attitudes of pupils, Personal Development and Leadership and Management.


Our Local Governing Body has been in place since January 2019, prior to this the Trustees operated in the capacity of Local Governing Body.



Market Field School Local Governing Body Details

(as of October 1st 2019):

Chair of Governors - Michael Lucking (co-opted Governor) 13/12/18-12/12/22

Joanne Barraclough (Appointed Governor) 6/12/18 - 5/12/22

Helen Byford (Parent Governor) 23/09/16-22/09/20

Donna Downes (Staff Governor) 27/11/18-26/11/22

Fran Driver (Parent Governor) 24/06/19-23/06/23

Luke Frances (Staff Governor) 23/09/16-22/09/20

Sir Bob Russell (Appointed Governor) 23/09/16-22/09/20

Gary Smith - CEO

Ruth Whitehead - Head of School

Katherine Sullivan - Clerk to Governors

Explore More

Inspection of Market Field School - February 2015

DfE Governance Handbook   

Governor Code of Conduct 

Attendance at Governing Body meetings 2018-19  

*Ruth Whitehead was on Maternity Leave 2018-19, Adam Dean attended meetings in her place